May Haul 2016

This is my Book Haul for May 2016, some are the last books in series, and some I just bought on a whim.

17927395A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
This book is definitely on my Haul list, I pre ordered this 6 weeks before the release date, straight after I finished reading A Court of Thorn and Rose, and aargh, had to wait one day after release because of postage, but thank god.

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

25503777Harry Mac by Russell Eldridge
This book sounds really interesting, and isn’t something that I would normally read, so bring on the challenge.

Tom and Millie are best friends who live in a quiet lane on the edge of town. They rely on each other to make sense of what’s going on in their lives and in the lives of their families – especially Harry Mac’s.

Harry Mac, Tom’s dad, is a man of silences and secrets. And now Tom is involved in one of those secrets.

At school, Tom sits through lessons on the arms race and President Kennedy, waiting until he can be back on the lane where life is far more interesting: why does a black car drive slowly up the lane every night? And what did Harry Mac mean when he wrote in his newspaper ‘people disappear in the night’? A series of shocking events and discoveries lead Tom closer to the truth, but threaten to tear his world apart.

Set within a fascinating period of South African politics, this is a coming-of-age story full of heart, soul and hope, in the tradition of Jasper Jones and To Kill a Mockingbird.

The Traders Reward by Anna Jacobs19803315 - Copy
This is the final book in The Trader Series, a friend sent me this book, and I do not have the other 4, so looks like I will be getting them before starting this series. Have you read it? Your thoughts?

When Fergus Deagan’s wife dies, leaving him to care for their small children, he doesn’t know how to manage. He’s always been envious of his older brother Bram’s good fortune but now he reluctantly knows he needs his help, and sets off with his family for Western Australia. When he gets there, he finds that the problems with Bram’s ice-making venture are threatening to ruin his brother. Can Fergus help find a solution and make amends with Bram at last?

25876358.jpgThe Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood
I have heard and read really good reviews about this book, so I am excited to read this, when I get a chance.

Two women awaken from a drugged sleep to find themselves imprisoned in an abandoned property in the middle of a desert in a story of two friends, sisterly love and courage – a gripping, starkly imaginative exploration of contemporary misogyny and corporate control, and of what it means to hunt and be hunted.

The Long, Hot Summer by Kathleen MacMahon 24515141 - Copy.jpg
Again, another book I wouldn’t normally read, as I am more into YA and Thrillers.

Nine Lives. Four Generations. One Family. The MacEntees are no ordinary family.
Determined to be different from other people, they have carved out a place for themselves in Irish life by the sheer force of their personalities. But when a series of misfortunes befall them over the course of one long hot summer, even the MacEntees will struggle to make sense of who they are.
As media storms rage about them and secrets rise to the surface, Deirdre plans a family party for her 80th birthday-and with it one final, shocking surprise.

The Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare18335634
I have the first two in the Infernal Devices Trilogy, and really wanted the third before I even started reading them, bonus is that the book is the same size as my others, so they are a matching set.

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

23395680Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
I had heard so much love about this book, and I am not really big on Sci-Fi but I got it anyway. And such a great decision. Absolutely loved it.

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

13537830.jpgBeautiful Creatures Series by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl
As I am pretty far behind in my book series, I am starting to buy them one by one. I have seen the movie for this, and despite some reviews giving it a crap review, I actually liked it. So I have high hopes for the books.

“There were no surprises in Gatlin County. At least, that’s what I thought. Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
“Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals for generations.
Mysterious, suspenseful, and romantic, “Beautiful Creatures, Beautiful Darkness,” “Beautiful Chaos,” and “Beautiful Redemption “introduce a secret world hidden in plain sight. A world where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen. Sometimes life-ending.
This stunning set makes the perfect gift for fans of this bestselling Southern gothic romance.

22369392The Great Hunt by Robert Jordan
I bought this book on a whim, as it was $5 brand new. I don’t really know what the series is about, but definitely keen on reading it. I have seen the other editions around, but never really looked at them.

The Forsaken are loose, the Horn of Valere has been found and the Dead are rising from their dreamless sleep. The Prophecies are being fulfilled – but Rand al’Thor, the shepherd the Aes Sedai have proclaimed as the Dragon Reborn, desperately seeks to escape his destiny.

Rand cannot run for ever. With every passing day the Dark One grows in strength and strives to shatter his ancient prison, to break the Wheel, to bring an end to Time and sunder the weave of the Pattern.

And the Pattern demands the Dragon.

18807235.jpgGreat Expectations by Charles Dickens
I have been wanting to get into the classics for ages, and also have been wanting to expand my Leather-Bound collection of books. This came up on eBay for less than $20, so I couldn’t pass it up.

Great Expectations follows the life of the orphan, Pip. We first meet him as a tiny, terrified child in a village churchyard. Years later, through the help of an anonymous benefactor, Pip will travel to London, full of expectations to become a gentleman. But his life is already inextricably tangled in a mystery that surrounds a beautiful woman, an embittered recluse, and an ambitious lawyer. This beautiful, leather bound edition of a classic is sure to make a welcome addition to any library.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: