April Wrap Up 2016

Ok, so last month turned out a bit crappy month for reading. Found out I am 13 books behind on my Goodreads goal.  Why oh why did I set myself to read 2 books a week. Aargh.

And then with moving and all the yucky stuff that comes with moving, I barely have time to read anything. Now I need to catch up, so in my spare time between packing, moving and cleaning, I am reading.

I have finally completed a few that I have been reading for 2 or so months.

51cXtmt22+L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Game of Thrones: A Dance with Dragons Pt. 1 – Dreams & Dust by George R.R Martin

After finishing A Feast for Crows, which takes place after A Storm of Swords and is based in King’s Landing, Iron Islands and Dorne.

I lost all interest in the Game of Thrones series. I attempted to read A Dance with Dragons, but had to put it aside for a few weeks, when I attempted to read it again, I got about 100 pages in and still nothing. After about 180 pages it started reeling me back into the Seven Kingdoms world.

This book also takes place after A Storm of Swords, but it takes place in Castle Black, beyond the Wall and across the sea to Dorne.

COLS_cover.jpgScreenshot 2016-04-15 07.53.44City_of_glass

City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels & A City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

So thought I’d put these 3 books in the same area, as they are the in the same series. So I completed book 3, 4 & 5 of The Mortal Instrument Series. I am so glad how the third book ended, it was such a relief. I don’t think I can say much on these without spoiling the series (I’m not that adapt yet at writing). But I will say that I am absolutely loving this series, and really want to read The Infernal Devices and really not sure if I should have read that series before this one, as I know TID is placed before TMI. But sadly don’t have all the books yet, just missing Clockwork Princess.  But hey too late now.

20160419_111204The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes

This book is completely different to the books I usually read. I picked it up at a Second Hand store for $2. Was hesitant at first, but thought why the hell not. And I am so glad that I did pick it up. When I started reading this book, I could not put it down. I wanted to know what happened, and when I finished I cried with tears of joy and sadness. Such an amazing book.

Screenshot 2016-04-15 07.53.56The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

This is more of a re-read. I read this book when I was younger, and absolutely loved it. I read it almost every weekend. Such an amazing story. The copy I have is the original version, so for me it was a bit harder to read as I had to read the little descriptions of some words at the bottom of the page, and then go back to read them. But this book did not disappoint and I still have the same satisfaction that I had with the book when I was younger.

Screenshot 2016-04-15 07.53.36Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

So I completed the first book in the Twilight saga, I read this when it was becoming popular, just before the first movie came out, and I loved it, but now that I am older, it just doesn’t do it for me anymore. I will be completing the other books in the saga, but other than that I don’t think I will re read them again.

So almost all my TBR for April has been completed, apart from Game of Thrones A Dance with  Dragons PT. 2, but I am slowly getting there.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

